A Challenge

I’ll admit the challenges I usually do are ones involving wearing kegal balls to work, or having an orgasm at work or sending pictures of my tits from different places, however The Chef has sent me a message today about yesterday’s blog, wanting to know more about my music taste and playlists. I sent him a message to say that I was thinking about doing a random 10 songs from my library, writing about why I like them and if there are any associated memories. He has also challenged me to say the year and an important event from that year. I am also going to add my favourite line from the song. I am going to reject anything that’s “filler” from a soundtrack. So let’s go.

 

  1. David Gray – White Ladder – 1998.

I don’t think this song was ever released, it was the title of the album, I remember listening to this album a lot when I was playing Spyro on the playstation,

Favourite Lyric – “There’s no rhyme or reason to love this sweet sweet love”

1998 – DVD’s were released for the first time in June of 1998

 

2. Nelly Furtado & Timbaland – Promiscuous Girl – 2005

Wow I forgot how much I loved this song! This reminds me of going out drinking and all the girls going mad in the local club.

Favourite Lyric – “I’m out of this world, come with me to my planet, get you on my level, do you think you could handle it?”

2005 – YouTube was founded

 

3. Electric Light Orchestra – I’m Alive – 1980

Oh this is from one of my all time favourite films, Xanadu. I was OBSESSED with this film when I was a child, I remember my Nan bought me a copy on video for Easter one year. Who wouldn’t like a roller disco musical film with Olivia Newton John in it?! This is one of my absolute favourite soundtracks of all time too, I love each and every song on it.

Favourite Lyric – “Seems like forever (and a day), thought I could never (feel this way)
Is this really me? I’m alive, I’m alive, I’m alive”

1980 – Post-It notes were introduced to the American Market

 

4. Gnarls Barkley – The Boogie Monster – 2006

This album was so random, I really loved it though, this song is so funky and I can’t help singing along when I hear it, I always laugh at my favourite lyric. I love this album, I need to listen to it again properly.

Favourite Lyric – Only thing that’ll bring me back alive woman, is some good good head”

2006 – The Wii was released.

 

5. Frankie Goes to Hollywood – The Power of Love – 1984

*sigh* I’m so in love with this song. I can always imagine some really intense love-making going on with this song playing in the background. I know it’s generally only heard around Christmas, due to its biblical video, but this is an all year rounder for me.

Favourite Lyric – “Flame on burn desire, love with tongues of fire, purge the soul”

1984 – The original Apple Macintosh personal computer went on sale

 

6. The Carpenters – Solitaire – 1975

I love Karen Carpenters voice, love love love it, if I could sing like her it would be the best thing, she had such a beautiful range. I hate how tragically her life ended. I love this song, it’s so simple and sad.

Favourite Lyric – “And keeping to himself he plays the game, Without her love it always ends the same”

1975 – The UK implements the Sex Discrimination and Equal Pay Act

 

7. Nirvana – In Bloom – 1991

I love the album “Nevermind”, I remember being about 11 and my godfather driving my parents and me into town from the village I grew up in. I expressed a liking for the music he was playing, he was so proud he gave me a £20 note and told me to go and buy it. A few years later I stuck a passport sized photo of my dad’s face over the baby on the cover. I still have that CD somewhere, one of the few I have kept since everything has gone digital.

Favourite Lyric – “And he likes to shoot his gun, but he don’t know what it means”

1991 – Freddie Mercury, lead singer of the band Queen, issues a public statement confirming that he is stricken with AIDS, and the next day he dies of complications

 

8. The Avalanches – Frontier Psychiatrist – 2000

My god this is a weird track. The video was mesmerizing, the song completely left my brain for a good few years, then about 3 years ago it was on a music channel, me and my mother just looked at each other, reached for our phones and downloaded it.

Favourite Lyric – “You’re a nut! You’re crazy in the coconut!”

2000 – The UK fuel protests take place.

 

9. Staind – Outside – 2001

Oh my god a throwback to my emo days, another album I was absolutely in love with. I still really like this song. It just reminds me of when I moved to Salisbury, painting my bedroom and missing my old home. Trying to find an excuse to go somewhere so I could sneak a cigarette. Good times.

Favourite Lyric – “But I feel, tomorrow will be okay”

2001 – Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone was released.

 

10. Lifehouse – All In – 2008

This is my favourite band and this song is from one of my favourite of their albums. Not all that popular in the UK, I have been able to see them 3 times, each show absolutely outstanding. This is one of their more high energy songs and gives me a boost when I need it. It also makes me chuckle because of the lyric below, when I was a kid we had this game called “The Game” the object of the game was to forget the game. Damn it, I lost again. You just lost too. Sorry.

Favourite Lyrics – “And now I’m calling, calling out your name, even if I lose the game, I’m all in”

2008 – The year of the Hollywood writers strikes.

 

I think I want to do more!

11. Neil Diamond – Sweet Caroline – 1969

I have never been in a room when this is playing and not had the majority singing along. One of them songs that can unite people in a way not much can.

Favourite Lyrics –  “Touchin’ me, touchin’ you”

1969 – “That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”

 

12. Ne-Yo – Closer – 2007

Ahh this song reminds me of my old fuck buddy. He used to work in the only nightclub in my town and used to give me a lift home after his shift. For sex of course. I remember this song playing when he came up to me one night, and he kissed me. I think that was the first time he kissed me in public, so its always stuck in my mind.

Favourite Lyric – “She’s the sweetest taste of sin, the more I get the more I want”

2007 – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was published.

 

13. Limp Bizkit – Faith – 1998

Oh my god, ok, so I usually HATE covers. but this one is one of the few that I really like! Its different enough to stand on its own. If you are curious, a few others that break my rule are Jeff Buckley’s version of Hallelujah, Scissor Sisters cover of Comfortably Numb and that’s all I can really think of off the top of my head.

Favourite Lyric – “Need some time off from that emotion, time to pick my heart up off the floor ”

1998 – Digital Terrestrial Television Service launched in the UK

 

14. Ash – Shining Light – 2001

I really like this song, I think its romantic without pandering. It always makes me smile, even though it’s never really reminded me of anything!

Favourite Lyrics – “Of force are a force you are a constant source”

2001 – September 11. Senseless tragedy.

 

15. Sam Phillips – Reflecting Light – 2004

From the Gilmore Girls, I just fell in love with this song. It’s on repeat a lot at the moment, my thinking song. I love all the lyrics, I love the tempo, I love the tune.

Favourite Lyrics – “I’m on my knees in fascination”

2004 – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban came out.

 

I could do this all night, I’m not going to lie, but I am also not going to bore you, if I can help it!

 

 

 

One thought on “A Challenge

  1. Oh wow loved this 😀 it was interesting to see your favourite lyrics in the song were too. Please let there be more history of music and the world. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

